How to map CogAT level to a Grade level?

The Cognitive Abilities Test (CogAT) is a widely used assessment tool for measuring cognitive abilities in students. It is administered to students from Kindergarten to 12th grade and is designed to assess their reasoning and problem-solving skills in three areas: verbal, quantitative, and nonverbal.

CogAT has three different levels of assessments, which are specifically designed to test cognitive abilities at different stages of a student’s education. These levels are:

  1. Primary Level (Grades K-2)
  2. Multi-Level (Grades 3-12)
  3. Full Level (Grades K-12)

Let us look at each of these levels in detail:

  1. Primary Level (Grades K-2): The primary level of the CogAT is designed for students in kindergarten to second grade. This level of testing is administered in a one-on-one setting, and the questions are presented in a pictorial format to make it easier for young students to understand. The primary level consists of three batteries: verbal, quantitative, and nonverbal.
  2. Multi-Level (Grades 3-12): The multi-level CogAT is designed for students in grades 3-12. This level of testing has a broader scope and is administered in a group setting. It consists of the same three batteries as the primary level: verbal, quantitative, and nonverbal.
  3. Full Level (Grades K-12): The full-level CogAT is designed for students in grades K-12. This level of testing combines the primary level and multi-level tests and provides a comprehensive assessment of a student’s cognitive abilities. The full-level test also includes an additional section called the “spatial battery,” which assesses a student’s ability to visualize and manipulate shapes in space.

CogAT Level to Grade Level Mapping:

LevelGradePrep Material Links


126Not Available
13/147-8Not Available
15/169-10Not Available
17/1811-12Not Available

Want to learn more about CogAT? Checkout our Parent Resources page.